This is fiction and to be enjoyed as such. This is part of the regular series – Team Up. I wrote up the English story while the Malayalam poem was written by another budding blogger. I also added the transliteration in Malayalam so that people can read it in its original language too.

We could but we didn't

May I Know You!

There are a lot of people in this world and I do not know them all. I do not know the person who stays next door, I do not know the person who sells me vegetables or the guy whom I meet everyday while travelling in the bus…I do meet random people everyday, so how do I decide whom I should be knowing … how do I make the choice…

Sometimes you forget the most important parts of a relationship… the first meeting .. The first coffee… those firsts… u miss them …may be its just because what after comes later is so nice that you think, why worry about the first day when every other day is a gem….

I saw her , I met her, a casual handshake and then I slouched back on my seat. A question came to my mind, should I ask her something… would that mean I’m aggressive.. Should I wait for her to settle…. I don’t know.

I see her in the café and pass on a smile.. Did she recognize me… or was it  just a “an extra smile isn’t  a waste” one. Anyways I do want to talk to her… should I make a move….no let me wait for a better moment.

I’m lucky that we got to work on same assignment… She is not that intelligent so I would have an opportunity… to talk to her…to help her.. to get close… to know her…. This is too official, let me wait for a better moment.

They are giving me a farewell  today. Everyone seems happy with the cake selection and I see her again.  She sees me and walks towards me. She tells she liked working with me and wishes me luck for future.

I softly tell her that I also enjoyed her company and wanted to be close friends but never could get the opportunity to get personal. She smiles and shows her regret for not asking as well.

I feel that this is the moment and I ask her “May I Know You!!”…. And She replied “Now!! May be Next Time”. We smile and move on to share the last cake piece, and think alike- ” let me wait for a better moment.”

Aparichithar

Avar, avanum avalum, aparichithar
perukal polum parasparam ariyatha randu per.
Aa kettidathinte  idanazhikalil
eppozho orikkal kandumuttiyavar,

Enno oru nal, athiloral ,
adyathe punchiri neetti
Pinnenedennum avar punchirikalil
kaimari, souhrudam

Orikkal mathram aval mounathin chuvarukal
bhedichu kondu- avanaduthay vannu
Yatra cholluvan vendi mathram
Kannukalil annavar thiricharinju
Nashtangalude aazham

Engilum, ormakalil sookshikkan
Oru chiriyude madhuram pangu vachu-
avar, ethir dishakalilekkay nadannu neengi
Randu lokangalikekkay…

a Google transliteration for those who prefer it in the original form

അപരിചിതര്

അവർ, അവനും അവളും, അപരിചിതർ
പേരുകൾ പോലും പരസ്പരം അറിയാത്ത രണ്ടു പേർ.
ആ കെട്ടിടത്തിന്റെ  ഇടനാഴികളിൽ
എപ്പോഴോ ഒരിക്കൽ കണ്ടുമുട്ടിയവർ,

എന്നോ ഒരു നാൾ, അതിലൊരാൾ ,
ആദ്യത്തെ പുഞ്ചിരി നീട്ടി
പിന്നീടെന്നും അവർ പുഞ്ചിരികളിൽ
കൈമാറി, സൌഹൃദം
ഒരിക്കൽ മാത്രം അവൾ മൌനത്തിൻ ചുവരുകൾ
ഭേദിച്ചു കൊണ്ട്‌- അവനടുത്തയ് വന്നു
യാത്ര ചൊല്ലുവാൻ വേണ്ടി മാത്രം
കണ്ണുകളിൽ  അന്നവർ തിരിച്ചറിഞ്ഞു
നഷ്ടങ്ങളുടെ ആഴം

എങ്കിലും, ഓര്‍മകളിൽ സൂക്ഷിക്കാൻ
ഒരു ചിരിയുടെ മധുരം പങ്കു വച്ചു-
അവർ, എതിർ ദിശകളിലേക്കായ് നടന്നു നീങ്ങി
രണ്ടു ലോകങ്ങളിലേക്കായ്…

